Saturday, March 21, 2020

Breault Leading California Dreamin J/22 Match Race Series

J/22 match racing off St Francis Yacht Club
(San Francisco, CA)- San Diego Yacht Club and Long Beach Yacht Club have again joined forces with St Francis Yacht Club to continue another year of the popular California Dreamin’ Series. A three-stop regatta designed to provide more opportunities for West Coast match racers, this series helps competitors gain experience in fully-umpired competition. The overall winner will be invited by Long Beach Yacht Club to its prestigious Ficker Cup 2021, itself a qualifier for its Congressional Cup, a stop on the professional World Match Racing Tour.

Nicole Breault of St Francis YC and her team of Molly Carapiet, Hannah Burroughs and Karen Loutzenheiser won all of their matches to win the second stop of the three event California Dreamin’ Series match racing sailed at the St. Francis YC in its matched fleet of J/22s.  Also from the St. Francis, Dominic Bove finished second with the support of Cassedy Lynch, Isabelle du Moulin and Nolan Van Dine. Matt Whitfield of Penarth YC (Wales, United Kingdom) finished third.

Caliornia Dreamin J/22 winners
From left to right: Karen Loutzenheiser, Nicole Breault, Hannah Burroughs, Dominic Bove, Isabelle Dumouline, Cassedy Lynch, Nolan Van Dine

The 2020 California Dreamin’ Series Race dates are:
  • February 1–2 (J/22s): San Diego Yacht Club
  • March 7–8 (J/22s): St. Francis Yacht Club
  • April 18–19 Ficker Cup: Long Beach Yacht Club
  • May 9–10 (J/22s): StFYC will host the USMRC Qualifier, a Grade 3 event open to anyone who wishes to participate.
For more California Dreamin' J/22 Match Race Series sailing information Add to Flipboard Magazine.