Wednesday, May 15, 2019

Spirited Yachting Cup Regatta

J/105 sailing Yachting Cup
(San Diego, CA)- There were plenty of high-fives, handshakes and celebratory cheers back on the docks after the final day of the San Diego Yacht Club’s Yachting Cup. Congratulations were exchanged and camaraderie was shared by all.

The Yachting Cup perpetual trophy for the J/120 class is covered with winning plaques over the years for Chuck Nichol’s CC RIDER and John Laun’s CAPER. So, it was no surprise to see SDYC Staff Commodore’s John Laun and Chuck Nichols back at the top of the standings battling for another tally on the trophy. This year it was CAPER’s turn, as they won the first three races on their way to the win. Taking third was Ernie Pennell’s MAD MEN.

“It was a lot of fun. We were able to get good breeze both days up to 11 and 12 knots. We were in the Far Ocean course. It was very shifty and challenging at times, but it worked out well. We’re lucky to come out first in our class,” said Bill Campbell, tactician on CAPER.

“The first race yesterday [Saturday] stood out to us the most. We got on the water, hit our stride early on, and Bill and John nailed the start. We extended our lead the whole race, and it was really fun,” added Alli Bell, trimmer on CAPER.

SDYC relies heavily on the local J/105 class to support its signature fall regattas, the International Masters and Lipton Cup regattas. Many of the J/105s used to run those events competed in this year’s Yachting Cup with fleet captain Stewart Cannon’s J-OK finishing on top while winning the final three races of the weekend.  Second was the duo of Driscoll & Hurlburt on the bright orange JUICED and third was Steve & Lucy Howell’s BLINK.

Jeff Janov’s J/70 MINOR TRHEAT used wins in the last two races to take the class win over Tony Collins’ FLY in a competitive seven race series for the J/70s.  Third was Steve Wyman’s NUNUHUNU, fourth Bruce Cooper’s USA 32 and fifth Kim Kundrak’s USA 206 (she was also the Corinthian division winner).

David Boatner’s J/35 RIVAL, who was an overall winner at the 2016 Yachting Cup, narrowly won the PHRF C Class with four bullets and two deuces for 8 pts net.  Sailing Photo credits- Mark Albertazzi   For more Yachting Cup San Diego sailing information Add to Flipboard Magazine.